We drew out storyboards for our story outlines and went over them in the session. I received some useful criticism for mine, including to keep in mind information that is important for the audience to know and make sure it is communicated to them, and it was pointed out to me some areas which needed more ‘setup’ in order to help later points become more effective. I also need to work on pitching stories in a more engaging way to get the receiver to really take interest in the work.

We were also pointed to a number of useful references to do with narrative and storyboarding, and how to turn a storyboard into an animatic, something I am very interested in trying.

Coincidentally Aaron Blaise, an artist and animator whose instructional videos I refer to a lot, recently made a video discussing storyboards and his process for creating them and making animatics for them:

