[Insert Mario theme here]

While I keep working on Ridley, I did come across a YouTube series which I found very interesting. While it might be something of a niche interest for people who haven’t tried modelling, the videos are still pretty accessible. The episodes examine how a given video game character’s model has changed over time with improvements in technology – starting with the lowpoly early generation models and following their increasingly complex later generation versions.

I wish I’d known about these while I was still in the modelling stage, as there are some good insights into how past riggers and animators have dealt with technical limitations and improved on past problem areas, as well as giving an overview on how the character designs themselves have or haven’t changed.

So far there are episodes on Mario, Sonic the Hedgehog and Crash Bandicoot*.

*We were a PlayStation household, so Crash was the only one on this list I ever actually played. Old school Spyro the Dragon beats all of them, though. Fight me.

References:
A+Start. (2017). Super Mario – Low Poly (Evolution of Characters in Games) – Episode 1. [Online Video]. 8 April 2017. Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2gXyEyy_2U. [Accessed: 8 June 2017].
